Questions? +1 (202) 335-3939 Login
Trusted News Since 1995
A service for movie industry professionals · Tuesday, July 16, 2019 · 490,756,383 Articles · 3+ Million Readers

Olivia Wilde's Booksmart leads the 2nd Annual Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society Midseason Award Winners

LOS ANGELES, CA, USA, July 1, 2019 / -- The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society 2nd Annual Midseason Award Winners

Over the weekend, the members of the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society voted for their 2nd Annual Midseason Awards. The twelve categories highlighted various films that were released from January 1, 2019 to June 30, 2019 including a category where the members voted on which upcoming release for the 2nd half of 2019 they were most excited to see.

Olivia Wilde’s Booksmart was the biggest winner of the Midseason Awards taking home a total of five awards including Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Female Director for Olivia Wilde. Jordan Peele’s Us and Dexter Fletcher’s Rocketman are tied for second place with a total of two wins each. Us won Best Actress for Lupita Nyong'o and Best Male Director for Jordan Peele while Rocketman took home Best Actor for Taron Egerton and Best Supporting Actor for Jamie Bell.

A full list of winners and the runner-ups can be found below:

Best Picture:

Winner: Booksmart

Runner-Up: Rocketman

Best Actor:

Winner: Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Runner-Up: Robert Downey Jr, Avengers: Endgame

Best Actress:

Winner: Lupita Nyong'o, Us

Runner-Up: Beanie Feldstein, Booksmart

Best Supporting Actor:

Winner: Jamie Bell, Rocketman

Runner-Up: Ben Mendelsohn, Captain Marvel

Best Supporting Actress:

Winner: Billie Lourd, Booksmart

Runner-Up: Naomi Scott, Aladdin

Best Male Director:

Winner: Jordan Peele, Us

Runner-Up: Dexter Fletcher, Rocketman

Best Female Director:

Winner: Olivia Wilde, Booksmart

Runner-Up: Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre, The Mustang

Best Original Screenplay:

Winner: Booksmart, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, & Katie Silberman

Runner-Up: Us, Jordan Peele

Best Adapted Screenplay:

Winner: Toy Story 4, Andrew Stanton & Stephany Folsom

Runner-Up: Avengers: Endgame, Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely

Best Indie Film:

Winner: Booksmart

Runner-Up: The Souvenir

Best Streaming Movie or TV Series:

Winner: When They See Us, Netflix

Runner-Up: Always Be My Maybe, Netflix

Most Anticipated Film for the Second Half of 2019:

Winner: Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Runner-Up: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


Founded in late 2016, the creation of the LAOFCS was to promote inclusion in film criticism while being an organization that promotes and celebrates film year-round. The LAOFCS is made up of 49 members who live or reside in the LA area. Each January, our application period opens and remains open until the end of March.

The current LAOFCS members are Aaron Neuwirth, Abbie Bernstein, Alexander Robinson, Alicia Malone, Angelique Jackson, Ashley Menzel, Carla Renata, Christopher James, Dan Murrell, David Bax, Debbie Lynn Elias, Demetri Panos, Elizabeth Stanton, Eric Eisenberg, Heather A. Wixson, James Oster, Jami Philbrick, Jana N. Nagase, Jazz Tangcay, Joel D. Amos, John Rocha, Karen M. Peterson, Katie Kilkenny, Kevin O’ Keeffe, Kevin Taft, Kit Bowen, Lauren Huff, Liz Shannon Miller, Luis Lecca, Lupe Rodriguez Haas, Maggie Ma, Mark Pacis, Michael J Lee, Michael Sandoval, Morgan Rojas, Nestor Bentancor, Nikki Novak, Peter Sciretta, Rama Tampubolon, Scott Mantz, Scott Mendelson, Scott Menzel, Simon Thompson, Staci Layne Wilson, Stephen Saito, Terence Johnson, Wendy Lee, William Bibbiani, and Witney Seibold.

Where to find us:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,

Contact Us:

Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society

Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society
+1 310-694-1999
email us here
Visit us on social media:

Powered by EIN Presswire

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.

Submit your press release